The 2011 NHL Awards – Who Won and Who Deserved To…

So the NHL awards took place tonight, finally putting the 2010-2011 to bed. Let’s take a look at those who won, and those that should have been winners:

Norris Trophy (Best Defenseman)

Nominees: Zdeno Chara – Boston Bruins, Nicklas Lidstrom – Detroit Red Wings, and Shea Weber – Nashville Predators.

Winner: Nicholas Lidstrom, Detroit
Should’ve Been: Shea Weber, Nashville

While the Lidstrom win, his 7th, is not surprising, I think Weber was the correct choice. Weber finished The season with 16 goals, 32 assists, +7, and 211 hits. Weber, along with Pekka Rinne, is the reason behind Nashville’s successful season and playoff run.

Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward)

Nominees: Pavel Datsyuk – Detroit Red Wings, Ryan Kesler – Vancouver Canucks, and Jonathan Toews – Chicago Blackhawks.

Winner: Ryan Kesler, Vancouver
Should’ve Been: Ryan Kesler, Vancouver

This was the correct choice. Kesler had an unbelievable season, too bad it didn’t translate to anything in the Stanley Cup Finals…

Silver Medal in the Olympics and a loss in the Stanley Cup Finals - "I love 2nd Place!!"

Jack Adams (Best Coach)

Nominees: Dan Bylsma – Pittsburgh Penguins, Barry Trotz – Nashville Predators, and Alain Vigneault – Vancouver Canucks.

Winner: Dan Bylsma, Pittsburgh
Should’ve Been: Guy Boucher, Tampa Bay

Tampa Bay went from 12th place conference finish last year, to Eastern Conference Champion contender this year. Bylsma won due to keeping his team successful despite injuries to their two stars Crosby and Malkin. If you ask me, turning around a team is more impressive then overcoming an aspect of the game…

Calder Trophy (Rookie of the Year)

Nominees: Logan Couture – San Jose Sharks, Michael Grabner – New York Islanders and Jeff Skinner – Carolina Hurricanes.

Winner: Jeff Skinner, Carolina
Should’ve Been: Jeff Skinner, Carolina

No issue here. 63 points during the regular season, leading all rookies.

General Manager of the Year

Nominees: Mike Gillis – Vancouver, Steve Yzerman – Tampa Bay, and David Poile – Nashville.

Winner: Mike Gillis, Vancouver
Should’ve Been: Steve Yzerman, Tampa Bay

Ok, this one I don’t understand. Yzerman was a part of a major team turnaround, while Gillis kept together an already talented and successful team. I just don’t get it…

Lady Bing (The Gentleman Award)

Nominees: Loui Eriksson – Dallas Stars, Nicklas Lidstrom – Detroit Red Wings, and Martin St. Louis – Tampa Bay Lightning.

Winner: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay
Should’ve Been:  Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay

No issue here. This was the obvious and correct pick.

Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender)

Nominees: Roberto Luongo – Vancouver Canucks, Pekka Rinne – (Nashville Predators) and Tim Thomas -Boston Bruins.

Winner: Tim Thomas, Boston
Should’ve Been: Tim Thomas, Boston

No surprise here, but part of me wanted to see Pekka Rinne win this after the job he did for Nashville this season. Maybe next year. Luongo took a share of the Jennings.

"You like that Alex? YEAH! Take it from a TROPHY WINNER!!"

Hart Trophy (MVP)

Nominees: Corey Perry – Anaheim Ducks, Daniel Sedin – Vancouver Canucks, and 
Martin St. Louis – Tampa Bay Lightning.

Winner: Corey Perry, Anaheim
Should’ve Been: Daniel Sedin, Vancouver

104 points, 41 goals, +30… Enough said. He took the Ted Lindsay Award though, so I guess it softens the blow a bit…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.